Each time a Spell Card is activated, place 1 Spell Counter on this card when that Spell Card resolves. If a card with a Spell Counter(s) is destroyed, place its Spell Counters on this card. Once per turn, if you would activate a card effect by removing a Spell Counter(s) from your side of the field, you can remove that many Spell Counters from this card instead. If this card would be destroyed, you can remove 1 Spell Counter from this card instead.
|How to Obtain?|
Card Pack: Crimson Kingdom
Structure Deck EX: Spellbound Silence
- You can use the effect of Minefieldriller to add this card from your Graveyard to your Hand.
- This card's effect works great as a substitute cost for cards like Blast Magician and Magical Marionette.
- Use cards like Pitch-Black Power Stone to speed up the addition of Spell Counters on this card.
- This card also works very well in setting up Mega Ton Magical Cannon, as there is always a danger of losing Spell Counters when your opponent destroys the Monsters containing the Spell Counters.
- Keep in mind that this field card is nearly indestructible; as it generates spell counters itself that can be used to protect it.
- Keep in mind that even if this card isn't destroyed it will lose its Counters if it is sent back to the hand.
- Use Spell Absorption to gain Life Points and gain Spell Counters at the same time.
- The effect of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" which places Spell Counters on itself when a card with Spell Counters is destroyed does not start a Chain.
- The effect "Once per turn, if you remove a Spell Counter(s) from your side of the field to activate the effect of a card effect you control, you can remove the Spell Counters(s) from this card instead." of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" can only be used for costs. It cannot be used when an effect like "Mythical Beast Cerberus" removes Spell Counters.
- If "Endymion, the Master Magician" Special Summons itself from the hand or Graveyard by removing six Spell Counters from "Magical Citadel of Endymion", then [Champion's Vigilance] [...] etc can negate the Special Summon of and destroy "Endymion, the Master Magician".
- "Magical Citadel of Endymion" will gain Spell Counters if a card on the the opponent's side of the field is destroyed while that card has Spell Counters on it. Also, if both players have activated a "Magical Citadel of Endymion" and a card that had Spell Counters is destroyed, the effect of both copies of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" is applied and the same number of Spell Counters is placed on each of them.
- The effect of [Skilled Red Magician] [is] not activated by removing Spell Counters, so you cannot remove the Spell Counters from "Magical Citadel of Endymion" instead, regardless of the number of Spell Counters on [Skilled Red Magician].
- When you use the Spell Counter-substituting effect of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" to activate an effect, all of the Spell Counters to be removed must be removed from "Magical Citadel of Endymion".
- When a card like "Magical Marionette" has no Spell Counters on it, you can activate its effect and remove the Spell Counter(s) from "Magical Citadel of Endymion" instead.
Spell Counter Rulings
- The effect which places a Spell Counter on [this card] when a Spell Card is activated does not start a Chain.
- The Spell Counter is placed on [this card] after the resolution of the activated Spell Card.
- The activation of a Spell Card, as mentioned in the text of "Magical Citadel of Endymion"/[Skilled Red Magician]/etc, is when you play it face-up from your hand, or when the Spell Card is Set and you flip it face-up. It does not include activating the effect of a Spell card which is already face-up on the field, such as when you activate the effect of [Harpie's Hunting Ground]. "Skilled Red Magician" etc will not gain a Spell Counter when you activate the effect of [Harpie's Hunting Ground] etc.